Who won at the British Business Awards 2023?

Who won at the British Business Awards 2023?

Oli Barrett MBE hosted the fourth British Business Awards 2023 at London’s British Museum.

The awards saw 229 attendees grace the museum’s BP Theatre on November 14.

Over 660 entries came in from 538 companies, which was then whittled down to 157 shortlisted nominees across 19 categories.

Barrett, a serial entrepreneur and “the most connected man in Britain” (Wired), commented on X/Twitter that it was “a massively enjoyable honour” to present the awards.

Winners were chosen by a panel of 12 judges including Small Business Commissioner Liz Barclay, founder of 1000 Black Voices Elizabeth Shaw and Talk Think Do CEO, Matt Hammond.  

This years sponsors were Awin, HSBC and Smart Meters, with Home Grown as a media partner.  

Tania Ferreira, event director of British Business Awards organiser, Stubben Edge, said: “The excitement for this year’s British Business Awards was palpable. The energy in the room on the day was fantastic and all our attendees were truly engaged and there to support one another.

“We are delighted to be able to provide this platform to highlight and celebrate the brilliant UK SMEs out there – they are doing amazing things! Congratulations again to our 2023 shortlistees and winners. We look forward to following your success and supporting you all the way.”

British Business Awards 2023 – the winners

Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic Business of the Year

  • Bezaleel Solutions Ltd 
  • Diversifying Group
  • Essentialise Workplace Wellbeing
  • Ibadah London
  • LoveRaw
  • Nemi Teas Ltd
  • Ngozi Cadmus
  • ScreenHits TV
  • UpSkill Digital
  • ZR Consultants Ltd

Winner: UpSkill Digital

Business Lender of the Year

  • Dawsongroup Finance
  • Fearless Adventures
  • Haydock Finance Ltd
  • 365 Business Finance
  • mycashline
  • Nucleus Commercial Finance
  • Tallaght Financial Ltd – trading as Cubefunder
  • ThinCats

Winner: ThinCats

Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Abdul Thadha, Books2Door
  • Andrea Clewett, Showerscape
  • Aurangzaib Chawla, Lanop Pvt Ltd
  • Deirdre Mc Gettrick, ufurnish.com
  • Jeff Dewing, Cloudfm Group
  • Jo Tutchener-Sharp, Scamp & Dude
  • Karen Turton, Purple Story Ltd
  • Penny Reid, Eximia 
  • Rishiraj Kapur, ABI Business Services Ltd – trading as V4 Telecom
  • Samantha Charles, Float Digital

Winner: Jo Tutchener-Sharp, Scamp & Dude

Health and Wellbeing Initiative of the Year

  • Ecosulis Ltd
  • Homeglow Products Ltd 
  • Incorporating Wellness with Kelly Hopley
  • Inuvi
  • LDM UK 
  • Lifestyle Fitness Gym ltd
  • NovaPure Naturals
  • Sarah Banks Coaching
  • The Miracle Foundation
  • Zen Communications Ltd

Winner: Inuvi

Inclusion Initiative of the Year

  • Amazon Web Services
  • BioStrata
  • Cosgrove & Drew Ltd
  • ISC Group
  • Magnetar IT
  • North East International Film Festival
  • The Dogs Squad CIC
  • The Fearless Academy
  • The Sheldon B&B

Winner: The Fearless Academy

Insurance Broker of the Year

  • John Palmer, Coversure Poole
  • Ben Davis, Superscript
  • Janthana Keenprakhamroy, Tapoly

Winner: Janthana Keenprakhamroy, Tapoly

Micro Business of the Year

  • Amity Fish Company Ltd
  • Destination Digital Marketing
  • Float Digital
  • Gangplank Ltd  
  • Global HR Implementation Services   
  • Ibadah London 
  • International Business Centre Ltd 
  • Juliemay Lingerie 
  • Southwest Chauffeur Auto and Driver Services Ltd
  • The Power Within Training & Development Ltd

Winner: Juliemay Lingerie

Most Innovative Business Idea of the Year

  • CeraPhi Energy
  • Copner Biotech 
  • Haybrooke Associates Ltd 
  • iCOR Systems Ltd 
  • Juliemay Lingerie 
  • Odonata International Ltd ( SNOAP )
  • Plantasia Tropical Zoo 
  • The Teatle Ltd 
  • Trust Electric Heating
  • Yardd

Winner: CeraPhi Energy 

Next Generation Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Ben Thornton, Thornton’s Growing and Living
  • John Hall, The Development Plan Ltd – trading as GetBoardwise
  • Joe Seddon, Zero Gravity
  • Zoltán Kopácsi, Best of Hungary

Winner: Joe Seddon, Zero Gravity 

Recruitment Advisor of the Year

  • Ellie Fisher, AKA Recruitment 
  • Fiona Morrison-Arnthal, Ambitions Travel Recruitment 
  • Phillipa Nicholson, Blue Bull Recruitment Ltd 
  • Gareth Lee, G&J Lee Recruitment 
  • Jason Whittenham, Kenect Recruitment 
  • Emily Doull-Reeves, Lawes Consulting Group 
  • Ricky Patel, Mase Consulting 
  • John Lugsden, Rogers Mchugh Recruitment Ltd 
  • Richard Barker, Talent Locker 
  • James Pepe, WPR 

Winner: Phillipa Nicholson, Blue Bull Recruitment Ltd

Retail Business of the Year

  • AJ Sports
  • Flare Audio Ltd
  • Ice of Ixworth
  • Pennine Cycles
  • Play Square Ltd – trading as Crazy Thumbs
  • Sew Creative Ltd

Winner: Flare Audio Ltd

Small Business of the Year

  • Adventure Togs
  • Clootie McToot Ltd 
  • Excel TM Group Ltd 
  • International Business Centre Ltd 
  • JLLighting 
  • Pets Purest Ltd 
  • Resus Rangers Ltd 
  • The Bath House – Banya London 
  • TOAST 
  • White Horse Energy Ltd&n

Winner: Pets Purest Ltd

SME Accountancy Firm of the Year

  • SME Accountancy Firm of the Year
  • GW & Co Ltd 
  • Philip Hare & Associates LLP 
  • TaxAssist Accountants 
  • Vibrant Accountancy 

Winner: Philip Hare & Associates LLP

SME Marketing Agency of the Year

  • BioStrata
  • Blue Array
  • Digital Media Team
  • Gambit Partners
  • La La Communications
  • Mitchell & Stones
  • PPC Geeks
  • The DM Lab
  • ThinkEngine
  • Unicorn Orange Ltd

Winner: PPC Geeks

Start-up of the Year

  • Ambitions Travel Recruitment
  • Bloomwise 
  • Boddice Accounting Ltd 
  • Essentialise Workplace Wellbeing 
  • Gretel 
  • Know-it 
  • Metaverse VR Ltd 
  • Social Media Kickstarter Training Ltd 
  • Stardust Book Services
  • STEPS Prosthetics

Winner: Metaverse VR Ltd

Sustainable Business of the Year

  • Clean Energy Capital
  • EQ Investors 
  • Green Tomato (Midlands) Ltd 
  • Groundwork Wales 
  • iCOR Systems Ltd 
  • Just Peel Ltd 
  • Lyfcycle Ltd 
  • Nemi Teas Ltd 
  • Pulp2 Ltd
  • VideOdyssey

Winner: Just Peel Ltd

Technology Provider of the Year

  • BrightHR
  • C2-Ai
  • ClickMechanic
  • Freemarket
  • Magnetar IT 
  • Ortharize 
  • Pulse 
  • RefTech Ltd 
  • Satago 
  • Voilo 

Winner: Voilo

Woman Led Business of the Year

  • Bare Kind
  • Bays Consulting Ltd
  • Diversifying Group
  • Emerging Communications Ltd
  • Maria Fogg Family Law Ltd
  • Scamp & Dude
  • ScreenHits TV
  • Tomson Consulting Ltd
  • ufurnish.com

Winner: Diversifying Group

Read more

How entering awards can help your business grow – Francesca James explains how entering awards can bring you closer to achieving your business goals